song for mom

1.

you’re sitting there, looking at me

with your big blue eyes and your coffee

and i wonder, do you see me?

2.

dancing around, laughing outloud

with your hands held high and

your head slightly bowed

and i wonder, where’s the music?

chorus:

when the sky turns blue and

the waves roll in

when i open my eyes

in the morning

will you be here?

bridge:

tomorrow holds its breath

i hug you tight

close the door,

whisper good night and

i wonder… will you be here?

7 Comments

  1. abbagirl74 said,

    June 3, 2007 at 3:33 am

    You are the bravest woman I know. I will pray for you tonight.

  2. Melanie said,

    June 4, 2007 at 1:25 am

    Dearest Em,

    Thanks so much for your faithfulness in checking my blog. You are such a good friend, and you will never know how much it meant to me that you remembered my birthday–thank you:)

    I finally have had a moment to check out your new blog! I love these honest thoughts Em. I can’t imagine how difficult this time must be for you, but I admire your faith in action. You emulate Christ to me.

    This song is really moving Em, and you voice is beautiful. Keep writing songs for your mom. She is a beautiful person! May God give you strength for each new day.

    I miss you too! I am glad that we have this way to stay connected.

    love,
    Melanie

  3. Pa Dow said,

    June 4, 2007 at 11:46 am

    Beautiful, Emily. So poignant. The fragility of life. Makes us want to hug ’em while we have ’em. U 2!

  4. naomi said,

    June 5, 2007 at 10:51 am

    Hi Em, it was great to see you in ‘reel life’ just now. I’m glad you have this blog. I do hope you write and post some more music. You’re so strong and talented! I hope you’re doing okay over there. The roses are all out in full bloom now – looking gorgeous all along your usual running route 🙂 Remember when we saw the first hints of spring coming?

    Love and thinking of you,
    Naomi.

    PS We missed you at cakeface last night!

  5. bro said,

    June 8, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    I enjoyed dad’s comment “hug ‘em while we have ‘em.” Very true. The thing that we don’t really think about is that we could sing this song for anyone… It is in the nature of death to take us by surprise, whether it’s on the doorstep or not. Where mom is going I’m sure they’ll be playing Newsboys all the time, but for some there will be no music…

  6. Jill said,

    June 13, 2007 at 5:13 pm

    Emily, this song is beautiful, like you. You amaze me. thanks for coming back into my life.
    I think of you and your mom often.
    Love, Jill

  7. Teneale said,

    June 19, 2007 at 10:57 pm

    Oh Em. Thanks for sharing the inner depths of your soul with me. That was a beatiful, heart renching song. I’m so sorry for your pain. I love you hon.


Leave a Reply

