heart status

i sat on the cold, stiff chair, facing row upon row of smiling facades.

everyone stared me in the eye, daring me to see them as someone different. daring me to call them hypocrites.

and i couldn’t for the plank in my own pupil.

but suddenly it came: a lightening-thought zig-zagging across my stormy brain.

what if flesh were stripped away, leaving behind pure heart? what if my eyes could bore through 100 per cent cotton shirts, beneath rib cages, and see people as they really are?

what would we look like then?

as christians, we sing in church; we pray at home; we talk about God. physically, we bow in ‘worship’, but do our hearts remain standing, stiff and stubborn?

i can only pray that when people look into my eyes, they see a beautiful heart.

2 Comments

  1. abbagirl74 said,

    June 15, 2007 at 3:09 am

    Indeed, a most beautiful and gracious heart. I have opened the little bible you gave me. It’s overwhelming when I think about who owned it and where it has been. It comforts me to know you kept this and used it often. I must admit that I have so many questions already after only reading Matthew 1. Perhaps they will be answered as I read more. Perhaps I am lacking something? I will send you an email for these questions I have.

  2. quone said,

    June 16, 2007 at 12:25 am

    a beautiful heart and a pair of beautiful eyes, as well.


Leave a Reply

