bop to the birds

img_1450.jpgthe wind was flirting with the sheer white curtains.

i had prepared salad and biscuits, being careful to slice up some cheese, because that’s my mother’s only food group. we sat down and prayed, then i began to eat. my mom, on the other hand, began to bobble her head like one of those things you buy for the car.

that’s when i noticed the music she’d turned on. it’s impossible for her to eat AND listen to music. so after 10 minutes of quiet dancing, i gently warned her, “mom, if you don’t eat, i’m going to have to turn off the music.”

she smiled lopsidedly and seemed to agree, picking up her fork and stabbing it into a piece of cheese. but she kept swaying to the music.

outside the birds were competing with the music, their voices clamoring lyrically about something or other.

i made my way over to the stereo, switched it off, then returned to the table, feeling much like i’d just reproached a child. she didn’t seem to mind.

she turned to me, big eyes full of mischief and said, “well then, i guess i’ll just have to bop to the birds.”

5 Comments

  1. abbagirl74 said,

    June 18, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    What a beautiful picture. Tell your mom that I secretly know how cool she is and the rest of the world is sure to find out. πŸ™‚

  2. marge said,

    June 19, 2007 at 4:36 am

    hi em i really enjoyed your writing, to me a good writer is someone who can get my mind in the picture which you have wrote and you did it. you know my mind, it is very fussy. em i wish we could be close, so i could come and have lunch with you and your mom, because would dance with her.and i love cheese. we all love you em and miss you love mom xoxxo

  3. Teneale said,

    June 19, 2007 at 11:00 pm

    I know I already responded to this on facebook, but this entry really gets me. And Mom is right, we would dance with your Mom and you. (You know how good my Mom is at dancing…too cute) I wish we were closer to you too. There is nothing I would like more than to give you a big hug in person. But this is the best I can do. Sqqquuuuuueeeeezzzzzeeeeeee. Love you hun. I miss your smile.

  4. quone said,

    June 20, 2007 at 1:26 am

    hehe i think she got you there Em πŸ™‚

  5. Melanie said,

    June 20, 2007 at 2:47 am

    Em, you write so beautifully and I can imagine this scenerio. Your mom is so precious–please say hi to her for me. I think Cheese could be Ryan’s only food group as well;) May God continue to grant you the strength to be there for your mom.
    love, Mel


Leave a Reply

