breakfast in bed

morning has broken.

i hear her soft slippers on the stairs, slow and determined. my eyes are still closed, but sunlight filters through the window softly kissing my cheeks.

the knob turns, she pokes her flushed head through the door and looks at me, blue eyes sparkling with the effort.  she continues to balance the tea with both hands and walk carefully over to my bed.

it’s a big feat for mom, whose hands shake uncontrollably. it’s her way of reassuring me she’s still here. of proving to herself that she can still take care of her little girl.

i take the tea, smile sleepily up at my angel-mother in her purple bathrobe sliding off one shoulder, tied loosely in the middle.

but she’s not finished. reaching into her deep purple pocket she pulls out a banana with flourish, holding it high in the air then placing it on the bed beside me. mom’s memorized my breakfast routine, and made sure to provide it free of charge.

i laugh, applaud, tell her she’s a magician producing things out of thin air. she smiles then says, “well, that’s why i have a pocket so i can carry things you see. and THIS is why i have two arms”…. she stretches out her arms and enfolds me, “so i can hug you.”

what a beautiful start to the morning.

4 Comments

  1. abbagirl74 said,

    June 21, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    Wow. No other words to say but just – wow.

  2. Teneale said,

    June 21, 2007 at 6:33 pm

    You have such a beautiful way with words. I’m always amazed how you can turn an every day event into something so amazing. What a talent you have. I have no doubt that one day my bookshelf will be full of books that you have written. (all autographed of course.)
    Love you

  3. Melanie said,

    June 22, 2007 at 3:23 am

    Em, again this is beautiful. I am glad that you had such a lovely start to your morning.

    Mel

  4. marge said,

    June 27, 2007 at 5:37 am

    hi em i have not much to say but wow it must have been great to see your mom at the door. hope you had a good day love mom


Leave a comment