what the bleep do we know?

last night i watched “What the Bleep Do We Know?” — an astounding documentary on quantum physics breathing meaning into our fragile yet complex mental space. i was blown away by the idea that our ideas can change the world, and indeed, my world was changed in that moment. it’s a dangerous balance: acknowledging the Maker of thought (God) and yet fully embracing the Power of thought (within us).

this morning i woke up and was worried because Dad brought me my tea and banana instead of Mom. negative thinking perhaps, but based on the reality that Mom has bad mornings. i crept upstairs, to find her sitting in her purple bathrobe (layering a turquoise sweater and a fushia nightgown — one can never be too colourful nor too warm!), and writing notes on her pad of paper. she looked at me with eyes that remind me of the vast sky and smiled her easy smile. on the paper she had written a smattering of thoughts on prayer and perfect vacations.

i was relieved to find her sitting up and writing. a cognitive morning. then i found her socks on the counter-top.bringing them over to her, she said, “you found my socks. you know, i like to wear my socks. they make me feel light on my feet. like i can bop around more easily.”

i threw my head back and laughed, no doubt breaking off the relationship between a neuron and a cell in my brain. this then, is ‘what the bleep i know’: that i love life with my mother. she keeps the blood in my heart pumping and the crows-feet near my eyes growing. she is the catalyst for my morning laughter, and for my fervent nightly prayers.

i am thankful for documentaries on quantum physics. but even more so, i am thankful for a mother who appreciates socks for the mere fact that they let her dance more lightly.

5 Comments

  1. abbagirl74 said,

    July 27, 2007 at 7:23 pm

    I can picture her now. She has such a beautiful smile on her face and in her eyes.

  2. diggingdeper said,

    July 29, 2007 at 5:47 am

    Hey there,

    Glad you see the gold in being with your mom, I don’t mean to pop your ballon, but if you do a search on what the bleep, fraud, ramtha, controversey or various other key words, you will come up with a wealth of material. The science used in the film was for the most part bogus. Just though you might like to know.

    Stllldigging

  3. Teneale said,

    July 29, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    The power of the mind can be quite frightening. I’m so glad for you that being with your Mom is a positive thing. I have incredible respect for you becuase of your very positive attitude. You amaze me gurl! Thanks for just being you. Love you.

  4. abbagirl74 said,

    August 7, 2007 at 1:56 am

    Hope you are doing well. I haven’t heard from you in awhile.

  5. jasonhenle said,

    December 8, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    I bought the Quantum Edition of What the Bleep do we know. Thinking positively can encourage a healthy lifestyle. However, quantum physics does not work that way at all. Quantum weirdness only exists on the microscopic level, when you zoom out the macroscopic world, any weirdness dissipates. Any positive things that happen to you, are not magical. Also, thinking positively is an extremely dangerous substitution for medicine.


Leave a Reply

