the land down under

so far…

i’ve seen lots of kangaroos! i took pics of them too. they
were living near our campsite; one night as i was setting up tent they
bounded through our campsite. i looked at them and thought “oh,
they’re just kangaroos.” then i basically jumped out of my skin, and
thought, “oh, they’re kangaroos!!!”

i drove 10 hours yesterday and we went from the south coast surrounded
by beaches and palm trees to the north coast which is full of
mountainous terrain and beautiful trees. i love it here. the air is
fresh and cool. we’re going to buy fish for supper, and then we’re
going to rent a dvd. tomorrow we’re doing more hiking, then we’ll be
returning the car and taking the train down the coast to visit one of
allison’s friends for a few days.

yesterday after driving so long we ended up in a cozy mountain town called Mount Victoria where we stayed at The Imperial Hotel… an old fashioned place with soft beds and elegant charm.

the trees are bursting into pink and red buds everywhere… it’s spring in the mountains! we’re surrounded by fellow backpackers and wierd-sounding birds.

everyone here is so friendly… they all say g’day, and mate, and
massive. those are the three words they use 🙂

they call gas “petrol” and i’ve had to learn to drive from the
opposite side of the car on the opposite side of the road. they have
signs for koala crossings and kangaroos; instead of “yield” they say
“give way” and instead of “passing lanes” they have “overtaking lanes.”

i’ll tune in again soon… g’day mates! photos to be posted later.

5 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    October 9, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    Wow! That sounds amazing! I can’t help but have a stab of fear when I think of you trecking around out there. Be careful. There are a lot of dangerous animals in Australia. Ok, I know, I sound like a wimp! Anyway, it sound like an amazing experience. Enjoy the time with your sister!
    Love you

  2. abbagirl74 said,

    October 9, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    I really miss you! I am so glad you posted. I had no idea you would be going to Australia. How cool! Hope you and your family are doing well.

  3. Annie said,

    October 9, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    Blimey! It sounds like you’re having a swell time. Have you had a chance to ride any wild brumbies yet? I really like the Australian saddle design. Matt has endured the “man from snowy river” movies with me many times. He’s a good bloke. 😉 By the by, have you seen the movie called “rabbit-proof fence” – or the real thing – while you’ve been there? I look forward to your pictures! Keep us posted! ~Annie

  4. Meredith said,

    October 10, 2007 at 1:26 am

    Hey Em! Your call this morning made my day – and made me miss the bus twice =) (at least it got me biking to Carleton along the beautiful canal). It sounds like you two are having heaps of fun there! It makes me excited for Christmas time as a family in just a few short months! I really think we should start a sisters’ trip tradition! (I guess that’ll mean I can’t be busy next time, eh? Otherwise it would’ve started already!) Have fun on the South end of the island. And take lot and lots of pictures for me! I love you!

  5. coffeebeansweet said,

    October 13, 2007 at 4:19 am

    hi emily well iam on the computer for the first time. since i have not being feel that good, but things are going much better now. i really liked your blog thanks for writing in it. it sounds like fun.yippy skippy have fun with your sis. love mom xoxoxo


Leave a Reply

