i really want to see you

my mother leaves the sweetest phone messages. with her soft-spoken british accent, frequent pauses and slow reflection, she nearly makes me cry.

whenever i doubt myself, i simply have to replay one of her messages . they always let me know i’m loved.

“emily… are you coming over today?… i really want to see you… this is mom.”

the other day: “emily, can you come and watch mary poppins with me?… i hope so…”

“emily, i was wondering if you could dye my hair for me. thanks so much…. love you… bye…”

then there are those that make me spill over with laughter.

“emily, dad’s saying i should take my pills. i have no intention of doing so…. call me later… mom.”

i’m not sure at what point we went from being mother and daughter to being close friends, but the more i hang out with her the more attached i become.

the problem is, no matter how hard i try to save those messages, they’re automatically deleted after 9 days.

and no matter how hard i try to save mom…

5 Comments

  1. abbagirl74 said,

    December 14, 2007 at 10:43 pm

    Love you Em.

  2. melanie said,

    December 17, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    Em, I am praying for you and your mom.

    love, Mel

  3. ammeepearl said,

    December 18, 2007 at 10:57 pm

    Hey Em!
    This made me laugh and then almost cry —
    thankyou for bringing us closer to your world — on a completely different subject,
    you could try to record some of them onto your computer with that recording program you use for music… seriously, we did that with a couple of my Grandpa’s old messages from when he was in the hospital and everyonce in awhile I’ll listen and it’s just really cool … anyways, just a thought =)

    Love you lots!
    Amy

  4. dave said,

    December 19, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    I hope that one day my children will feel about me the same way you feel about your Mom. Have a great day.

  5. abbagirl74 said,

    December 24, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    Happy Christmas!


Leave a Reply

