soul, spring open!

i am a painter, and a writer.

would i paint with such passion, if i did not know the limitations of words?

would i write with such awe, if i did not understand how hard it is to capture a word with a brush stroke?

the two, i believe, go hand in hand. like a fragile old man and his wrinkled wife doing a dance on egg-shells, they carefully waltz together, bringing beauty to canvas and paper.

i often wonder: if i grew popular enough at either, would i abandon the other?

no.

i find release in both. when i paint, something deep inside flings wide open and breathes. my mind flies with the brush flinging colour singing with the rich oils, the texture of the molding paste, the simplicity of creating a beautiful picture.

when i write something deep inside me uncoils and finds its legs, learns to walk or even run.

some days, i feel like a failure at both. on those days, i want to cry, because it’s only by painting well or writing strongly that i feel alive. but then i stop and think:

art cannot be perfected. that’s the very beauty of it. and that’s why, when i pick up my paintbrush or pen, my soul springs wide open like a window on a spring morning.

because that’s when i’m free.

2 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    January 30, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    I sort of know what you mean, but not to such strong intent. Your writing makes me wish I felt that strongly about something. Am I missing out on something? how do I feel the most free? I guess if I think about it, being outside snowboarding, or playing soccer, or just being home on the farm, surrounded by beauty, that makes me feel alive. You are an artist, and on those off days, just remember that you have admirers that will always feel something when looking or reading your art. (and I am one of them of course.)
    Love you.

  2. Sandy said,

    February 16, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    You are so passionate about what you do…it is so very inspiring. I am almost there with my photography. I know that digital is going to open a new door for me…I’m excited for the possibilities.

    What an amazing website too! xo


Leave a Reply

