daily life as of late

We did it. We ordered the kit from http://www.greasecar.com, which will convert our car from a diesel-guzzling tank to a used-veggie-oil tank. 🙂 We’ll be doing the conversion over March Break. I’m excited and petrified. 🙂

I have been working out a lot lately, as I’m training for Ottawa’s half-marathon in May. It’s incredibly hard… so many times I just want to step off that treadmill and call it a day, but the longer I stick with it, the better I feel in the long run. (ha ha — get it? Long run? Sigh…)

Mom has been doing very well; she’s been very alert and ‘with it.’ I love having her, my dad and my sister over for supper. I thoroughly enjoy cooking. That being said, I’m grateful for times when my hubby cooks. Like on snow days (which have been occurring a lot lately); since he’s a math teacher, he spends those days tip-toeing around home trying not to disturb me (which is hard since we have such a small house :))

We went snowboarding last weekend; it was marvelous, albeit disappointing compared to the Rocky Mountains we’re used to. I caught myself becoming ‘perfectionistic’ on the slopes. Why do I need to excel? Why can I not just enjoy the moment? Ironically, it wasn’t until I had consigned myself to the fact that I wasn’t perfect that I began to do better. Life is funny that way.

2 Comments

  1. Amy Pearl said,

    February 4, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    Hey Em! Thanks for the update ~ I can literally feel the peace and joy flowing off your writing … I’m glad that you are enjoyin life and your mom’s good days, and your husband, and snowboarding (atho, I am SURE that it does not compare to the Rockies!! hardly anything really does after you’ve been there =) )
    May you continue to experience the peace that you feel, and truly rest in this time.
    love, a.

  2. naomi said,

    March 3, 2008 at 5:56 am

    Awesome Em – where will you get the veggie oil? Fry shops?

    Must write you an email on writing and running soon 😉


Leave a Reply

