Leap Year Day

So today (Leap Year Day) comes every four years… I feel a bit beside myself, as I often do when trying to comprehend things like ‘death’ or ‘eternity.’ I think God created Leap Year to keep us vulnerable; to remind us that life does exist beyond the borders of ‘time’ as we know it. Because really, today can’t exist. It’s like extra minutes in a day, when the sun stands still. Today is a miracle — an extra 24 hours with which to use our lives wisely, carefully, creatively…

Last night I watched ‘You’ve Got Mail’ with Mom. We’ve been doing the Tom Hanks/Meg Ryan marathon (which consists of three movies :)). Before we settled down with our tea and our cookies to laugh and cry with our favorite characters, however, I interviewed Mom.

I pulled out my blue mP3 player, pressed the record button, and asked her to tell me about her life as a child growing up in Britain. And as she slowly and deliberately began to recall life in Ashford, Middlesex, as a shy girl with overly-strict parents, I became lost in her British accent and the gentle blue of her eyes remembering days of old, and I wondered “Why haven’t I asked her these things before?”

In other words, why does it always take selfishness on my part? (I was interviewing her in order to start my new book, based on her life — I plan to entitle it “Mere”.)

Well, as some say, better late than never. Happy Leap Year Day everyone 🙂 Here’s to taking advantage of extra time!

5 Comments

  1. Auntie D said,

    March 2, 2008 at 5:23 am

    How precious that you will write a book based on your Mom’s life. I was going to mention that to you some time ago. It will be a beautiful tribute to her and very special for your Dad as well. Good for you!

  2. naomi said,

    March 3, 2008 at 5:47 am

    that was a great way to describe leap year. I never thought of it as extra time. Now I wish I’d marked the day by doing something extraordinary!

  3. Teneale said,

    March 4, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    Wow. I never though of leap year in that way. That is a really cool way to think about it. I’ve contemplated what would happen if you were born that day…it would almost be like you didn’t exist. What day would your birthday be on? I’m very excited about your next book. I can’t imagine you using any other way to remember the life of your Mom (except through paintings maybe).

  4. Amy Pearl said,

    March 5, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Hey girl! I didn’t know your mom had an accent, or was British in fact! How cool. I’m sure your book will be amazing, you’ll have the writing part DOWN — no probs! I like your take on Leap Year too, I just always viewed it as our way of compensating for screwing up in the beginning how many hours/minutes there actually are in a day (even tho that doesn’t make ANY real sense whatsoever!) Thanks for your insights and inspiration as always!

  5. March 9, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    Em,
    What an interesting and though provoking take on leap year day! I have never seen it that way as well. Thank you for reminding the importance of cherishing each moment that the gracious Lord blesses us with!

    I have been “catching up” on your blog, and was also really touched by your post about doing what God wants us to do. I think most of life is learning how to die to ourselves. That post really encouraged me Em! Thanks for writing.

    May the Lord truly grant you the desires of your heart.

    love, Mel


Leave a Reply

