goodbye gaza

blackwhitehands.jpg

It would appear that we’ve reached the point of no return.

The UN can no longer afford to feed the world; the Middle East is murdering itself, and Harper and Bush are conspiring to fix everyone’s problems at the gunpoint of democracy.

We’re growing food to fuel our cars, and throwing away peace to fuel a feud.

I think it’s time we went hungry for awhile.

I think it’s time we worked in a Palestinian camp.

Then maybe we’ll get our stories straight. Then maybe we’ll stop sitting on our sofas, flicking from one disaster to the next. Then maybe we’ll feel something.

I’ve stared into the faces of hungry Palestinian children. I’ve taught them English; watched them play on the dirt floor which they called a playground; seen the mothers walk around bare-footed, fatigue and poverty streaking their faces; I’ve seen the way the huts they call ‘home’ gasp for air they’re so tightly squeezed together; I’ve watched young men playing soccer in confined areas; seen the fences which keep them out of a life they’ve never known.

Now, the Hamas is driving down hard, hiding among civilians, slaughtering those beautiful children and their mothers. Now all of Palestine is waving goodbye as they drown in a downpour of blood.

Is it goodbye Gaza? Is it goodbye hungry world? Or can we still save the children?

2 Comments

  1. Auntie D said,

    March 14, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Dear Emily,

    To be honest, I was trying to “avoid” this blog today. It looks like others may be doing that as well, due to no comments. It brings sorrow to my heart to read it and even comprehend how and why this is happening in our world.
    I certainly do not have answers for so many things when tragedy happens in this world. I think most of us struggle at times with a God who “allows” these horrific things to happen.

    Suffering and evil are inevitable parts of a fallen world. But we can be sure that God is in control of the universe, including the tiny corner we occupy. When He permits bad things to happen, we can be sure that He is faithful to His word, and that He will continue to provide comfort and guidance. He will shape us into the people He wants us to be.

    As in 1 Cor. 13:12, “Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror, (and a dirty mirror at that. My daughter loves to use hairpray!) then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part, then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.”

    “When I am afraid, I will trust in you.” Psalm 56:3 I think more, and more, and more, we need to trust Him as never before. God sees the big picture and the final chapter in the world He created. I only see a small part, somewhat like “tunnel vision.”

    Thinking of you both today, and holding you up in our thoughts and prayers as you go through each day with challenges, struggles, difficulties, and questions.

    Love you!!
    Auntie D.

  2. Maria said,

    March 17, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    Hi Emily — I love that you care! I love that you see beyond the images flicking past on TV, and that you refuse to just skip on to the next channel. A long time ago you posted a blog about caring, and how can we care when there are so many big issues facing our world (or something along those lines). You have been blessed with such a big heart, but at the cost of feeling much pain when you see others around you hurting. I don’t think it is possible to care to much, and yes, I think God expects us to put actions to the feelings He has given us. But He also knows that we are not able to fix everything on our own. That is why He has created a body of believers, that through this collection of believers, together we might be able to address the things that also hurt the heart of God.

    I so admire the way you so selflessly care for your mother day in and day out, and thank you for sharing your thoughts and responses on this website so that we, your friends can help you carry this load, if only in prayer. I cannot care for your mother in person, but you can; meanwhile God has called me to a different role. I believe that God will show us which things He would have us do to put actions to our caring for the hurts we see around us, and which things He has raised up others for.

    With love and prayers for you today as you care in His strength today, Maria


Leave a Reply

