Oprah’s religion

I’ve been battling a terrible cough/fever for the past seven days and it’s sapped me of spiritual and physical strength. I’m so thankful for my husband whose integrity and steadfastness keeps me … leaning on him lol. No, in fact, he keeps me leaning on God and continually points me back towards  Him even when I’m feeling low.

When interviewing Phil Cann of Youth Unlimited this past week, I realized I’d fallen prey to one of North America’s fastest growing lies: Christianity is about me. But it’s not. As Phil said, he’s sick of the ‘me-gocentricity’ of the church. In many ways it’s an Oprah-esque philosophy; Oprah says she’s a Christian yet believes Jesus came to show us the way to our hearts… Um, excuse me? I thought he came to show us the way to the Father. But that could be my fault. After all, I got that from the Bible which, while it has many good points, cannot be completely accurate because, well, it doesn’t match up to my idea of who God is. And hello…. I created God, so I should know what He’s like. 🙂

Sadly, many of us do try and create Him in OUR image, when it’s very much the other way around. I’m working on re-evaluating who I believe God to be, and Why, and asking Him to make Himself painfully real to me no matter the cost. I’d encourage you to do the same!

2 Comments

  1. Amy Pearl said,

    March 29, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    yay!!! I was so glad to read this post Em! I feel the same way — and it’s a battle all the time to keep things God-centered instead of Me-centered (at least it is for me).
    I’m sorry your feeling ill — I pray that you get better very, very soon!
    Love you and miss you =)
    a.

  2. Teneale said,

    March 31, 2008 at 12:15 am

    Lately I’ve been questioning what the idea of prayer really means. It is confusing to think about really…I mean, God has everything planned out ahead, so will praying about things make him change his mind? If so…does that take away power from God…and if not, why pray? Now granted, I’ve come a long way from that and have begun to realise the prayer might be more than just asking for what we want. I’m beginning to wonder if I have misunderstood the meaning of prayer right from the beginning. That is the issue that I’m struggling with right now. Any thoughts?
    Hope you feel better.


Leave a Reply

