gratefulness

Kerri makes me want to jump in spring puddles for the sheer joy of it.

“I have these moments,” she tells me. “It happens around 3 p.m., right as I’m getting off work. I step out onto the sidewalk and all of a sudden I’m flooded with this incredible sense of gratefulness. I’m grateful for my life, for the food I eat, for the people I know… and it happens every day. And I wonder, will life ever be normal again?”

She stops and sticks her face in some yellow tulips which are sitting alongside the road. I tried to comprehend. “You’re overwhelmed by gratefulness?”

She nods, her eyes bright. “Every day. I can’t get over how blessed I am.”

It’s not like she has an extraordinary job (she teaches English to Korean students) or that she has everything mapped out (in fact, she was having boy-problems). Rather, she finds life beyond her own circumstances. She is someone who, despite loving to travel, will NOT fly unless it’s a very meaningful trip because otherwise it would be simply self-indulgent.

I’m blown away. I have to sit down and digest. Why the heck am I not more grateful?

1 Comment

  1. marge said,

    April 14, 2008 at 3:36 am

    hi emily, teneale told me this weekend that you still write in your blog. To my delight, so i just got done read it. It was great just like you ,my sweety pie. i really miss you guys this weekend.we love you dad and mom xoxoxxo.


Leave a Reply

