my husband

i love my husband.

selfishly. you see, i love him because… he loves me. isn’t that horrible?

he lives to make me laugh. if i don’t laugh because i thought the joke was in poor taste or don’t have enough food in my belly, he gets sad. he hangs his head and pitter patters into the computer room where he then proceeds to kill a few people on the computer screen. sigh.

he’s so willing to help, at the drop of a pin. a very loud and heavy pin, mind you–i have to make it quite obvious– but when i prick him in the butt with that pin, man does he jump and perform! 🙂

no seriously, he’s very helpful. unless he’s absorbed with killing people on the computer screen.

he praises my paintings and tries hard to understand the words which i write, and tries even harder to empathise with me when he knows, as he calls me, i’m “misses flip flop”… swinging from one extreme to another.

and most of all, he is good to my family. he loves my mum in all of her stages, and when i’m not able to sit with her or care for her during a fuzzy period, he does. he even watched sleepless in seattle with her–knowing she wouldn’t remember it the next day, and wasn’t even really watching it (her head constantly falling onto her chest, her eyes mere slits of light).

and when the reality of her tumor hits me (which isn’t very often because i’ve erected a wall around that particular issue) he holds me as i try to understand the unfairness of it all.

some would say we’re complete opposites, and in many areas, we are. the key is, we have enough similarities to keep us comfortable, and enough differences to keep life exciting. “Variety is the spice of life.”

yup, i love my husband. til death do us part.

3 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    April 24, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    And it is obvious that he loves you in return. Thanks for sharing that passion with me. I love hearing how people love eachother, despite the hardships and differences that come along their path. The key is finding a way to make those differences strengths, and to make those hardships a little easier to carry. I’m glad you have Trent. But I’m also glad he has you, because like you said, you both have strengths and weaknesses and I’ve seen you both become better people because of each other. Love you.

  2. Ammee said,

    April 25, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    This is beautiful Em! It makes my heart ache for those who don’t experience marriage quite exactly that way, because that is such a wonderful gift.
    Treasure it girl! have a wonderful weekend. =)

  3. marge said,

    May 1, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    hi dad and i enjoy reading your writing and as parents, we say yippy skippy for you guys. when this happens, what a wonderful blessing. we love you. dad and mom oxoxo


Leave a Reply

