bubbles in my tummy

it’s one of those days where the sun cannot compare to my countenance. i am radiant, shining, glowing, and on top of the world.

i have an agent for my book, ‘Save My Children.’ she wants to represent me. what an honour. little ol’ me. i have been waiting since before Christmas to hear from her; i’ve been praying every night, and some days just folding over on my desk and begging God for his will to be done.

so what does it mean to have an agent? it’s almost impossible to get a book published with a notable publisher unless an agent represents you … and it’s very very hard to get an agent these days. so this is a miracle. she’s a strong believer in Christ, and really believes in this book. she has scouted around, asked the publishers what they’re looking for, and found some which she believes would be a good home for Save My Children. now she’s working on developing the ‘pitch’ and selling the book to them. so I just have to sit back and pray. once she’s sold it, she will get 15 % of whatever the book ends up making, and Bethany Homes will get the rest …

the other route (self-publishing, or going with a small canadian publisher) would have required me to do the marketing and selling of the book; now it’s out of my hands, and will hopefully reach a wide audience (particularly since this is an american agent)

what a big week! all this, plus i’ll be appearing on TV next Tuesday! (May 6th).. I’ll be on 100 Huntley Street, on Crossroads Television Station (CTS) at 9 a.m. and 9 p.m. thanks for joining with me in this celebration folks! love you. em.

4 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    April 30, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    That is too exciting! I don’t have a TV. Will there be some other way for me to watch it? And congrats. I never doubted you or your skill for writing for a second. Hugs

  2. Teneale said,

    April 30, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    ps. I’m going to celebrate with a mocktail for you tonight. I’m at a grad celebration and we are having a mock social with mocktails. So, I’ll have one in your honor!

  3. marge said,

    May 1, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    hi what great news for you em how exciting let us know how things are progressing.we are happy for you. love you and we sure plan to watch our daughter on T.V. dad and mom

  4. ammeepearl said,

    May 1, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    Praise the Lord, girl! I’m so excited for you!!!! You’re going to be famous — and kick some Ass =) (sorry, that slipped out) you’ll do well!
    Love you !
    a.


Leave a Reply

