moments that matter

Yesterday I stopped, looked outside and noticed the sun setting. And it dawned on me: Life is so very temporary. Suddenly the applesauce I was making seemed utterly trivial, as did the complaints which were, up until then, buzzing around in my head. All that really matters, I realized, is relationships. Over the past year that knowledge has definitely been sinking in, in light of Mum’s illness, but it’s startling how sidetracked we can become over things which won’t even enter the equation when we’re standing before the Maker of the Universe. I dropped the spoon I was holding and went to find my husband. He was sitting in our orange chair reading a book. I bent down, gave him a hug and a kiss and whispered ‘I love you.’ His face lit up like I’m sure God’s will when finally we get to be with Him–forever. Yes, those are the moments that matter.

2 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    May 16, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    I love those moments of realization, where you suddenly remember what really matters and wonder how you got so sidetracked. We are lucky that we both have such wonderful husbands to love and get love back from. Life is good. Love you Em.

  2. Melanie said,

    May 18, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    So true Em! I appreciate this post.

    love, Mel


Leave a Reply

