Long Weekend

It was truly a long weekend. Now I feel I need another. 🙂 Saturday I drove down to Oakville where I met Drew Marshall and was interviewed on his Talk Show. Afterwards he took my sister and I out for red wine and a captivating talk. It was such an honour to meet with him. He’s bringing reality to faith in Canada.

Then we drove home to catch Prince Caspian which sadly, was disappointing. Moments in the movie expired long before they ended. I think the awe of Narnia was best captured in the first, and perhaps cannot be repeated.

After that I returned home to find my husband had built us a campfire at midnight and poured me a glass of peach wine. Then we watched an episode of Lost.

Early the next morning I arose to drive to Waterloo where I painted a piece called ‘Creation’s Offering’ as pastor Steve Tulloch spoke (art during a church service is a unique and inspiring form of worship which I love) and then shared some of my poetry and writings with the congregation. Steve was talking about the role of creation and the earth in our lives as believers.

Then I met up with my friend Sandy who was launching her book at Chapters, and we had bubble tea. After that I drove home to welcome our friends up from Toronto. They stayed overnight and we played poker and bocce ball and drank beer and fellowshipped. I feel full and tired. This coming week I’m completing my training for the half marathon on Sunday May 24th in Ottawa, as well as finishing up news stories for the Record. I am thankful for my life.

(Picture taken of my friend Sacha and I in my backyard; we had a campfire with her and her husband)

2 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    May 20, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    We went down to BC with Rob’s Dad, Brad and Charlotte. It was a long ride, but we had a great weekend too. The weather was awesome. We took Char swimming everyday. She didn’t want to come home! I’m definitely wishing for more weekends as well!

  2. ammeepearl said,

    May 21, 2008 at 1:01 am

    yay! Your weekend sounds lovely =) May you have many more my friend ~ love a.


Leave a Reply

