half marathon

Today I ran the Ottawa Half Marathon in 2 1/4 hours. I was one of 9,000 running the half. In total, 33,000 individuals ran this weekend (5 km, 10 km, full marathon etc.). It was a challenging, wonderful experience. I’ve never felt so unified with complete strangers. We were all shooting for the same goal. We’d all trained for months to get here, and we were all seeing the fruition of that training unroll in front of us as we trailed through the scenic streets of Ottawa. Equally special was the affirmation complete strangers gave us from the sidelines, cheering us on by name (as evident on our number bibs) and holding out numerous signs like “You guys are awesome!” and “Nice legs sexy!” I will never ever forget today. More important than all those strangers rooting for me, however, was having my family around to cheer me on. Mum, Dad and Trent as well as both my sisters came up to Ottawa especially to root me on. There was no shortage of love this weekend. I’m forever grateful.

3 Comments

  1. abbagirl said,

    May 26, 2008 at 2:24 am

    Fantastic Job Emily!

  2. Teneale said,

    May 26, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    That is so awesome! I’m impressed. You are hard core girl! Wish I could have been there to share your triumph!

  3. Auntie D said,

    May 26, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    Way to go, Em. That is quite an accomplishment! It certainly takes courage, stamina, determination, perseverance to run the race, and receive the prize. (Heb.12:1)

    Isn’t it wonderful to love and to be loved! God is the ultimate lover of our souls.
    I am so happy that you are learning the beauty of being able to “receive” the love that others are showing and giving to you. Sometimes that is the hardest “marathon” to run, isn’t it?

    Wishing you all the best with your book publishing. I always knew you could do it! Take good care and blessings on yours and Trent’s lives there in Ontario.

    I luvs ya,
    Auntie Darlene


Leave a Reply

