like rain on dusty soil

What does it look like, when God takes care of you?
Does it look like me being a sobbing train-wreck on my pillow because it’s one of those days when I realize I’m not strong enough to save my mother? Does it look like manuscripts being rejected, paintings uninspired, birds eating the raspberries in our garden and the broken-hearted world which weeps outside my window?
Perhaps it looks like rain on dusty soil.
Like Amnesty International, freeing victims of injustice.
Like the tomatoes, carrots and zucchini which weren’t attacked by the birds.
Like the poem on my blog which connects me with a complete stranger across the waters.
Like my husband, whose sole purpose in life, he feels, is to make me smile.
Like the mornings when Mum isn’t fuzzy and wants desperately to have a cup of tea with me.
Perhaps that’s what it looks like when God takes care of … us.

(Below is a photo of my mum, sister and Aunt Shirley–three generations, laughing as one)

3 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    June 20, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    Maybe its when you come to accept that you can’t save your loved one and yet you still find the strength to survive it. Hardest point in my relationship with Christ-accepting that my Dad will never be superman again. And that is still the hardest point in my relationship with Christ at this point-but somehow a relationship has survived. Just when it seems like things can’t possibly get any worse, there is a glimmer of hope that shines through. Some day I will understand. And that is what really gets me through some days.

  2. Auntie D said,

    June 26, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Yes, trust in the midst of the never – ending storms/trials/heartaches is so difficult! I too struggle at different times when my prayers just do not seem to rise to the heavens for God to hear them. And yet I must trust that He does hear me (because He promises us that He does) and that He in His infinite wisdom will answer my prayers in His way and His timing. So difficult to wait though! I guess that is part of being human and the problem with impatience, and wanting to do everything in our own strength and time and in our own way.

    “When you walk though a dark valley, let no fear grip your soul. When you’re climing a steep mountain, His hand will not let go. ”
    Keep the faith and run the race well, as you abide in God’s comfort and His love. (Heb. 12:1)
    I do believe that we are allowed to go through trials in this life and often it is to be able to help and comfort others in the way we ourselves have been comforted by God. (11 Cor. 1:3-4) I have found that to be true with some of the journey I myself have been on. (for instance with infertility, and me mentoring another young lady from our church who is dealing with that now too .. they finally were able to have a little boy and now he is 6 years old and they have not been able to get pregnant again) I would not have been able to truly help her if I had not walked that diffucult path myself. When in difficulty, it feels like we are all alone and it hurts desperately! It has been a privilege for me to walk along side of her with encouragement and a listening ear and to see her get to a point now where her husband is finally willing to adopt. Her soul is gladdened.

    And no, we do not understand the “whys” and it often just does not make the least bit of sense.

    “Trust Him when dark doubts assail you,
    Trust Him when your strength is small,
    Trust Him when to simply trust Him
    seems the hardest thing of all.

    We love you!
    Auntie Darlene and family

  3. Auntie D said,

    June 26, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Em, would you please forgive my long-windedness! After I looked at my finished blog, my goodness! It is verrrrry long. Looks more like an epistle!!! Whoops. Maybe I should get it published???? So do you think I have a chance ???? ;o)
    xoxoxoxo


Leave a Reply

