days of unending light

In a few days we’ll be packing up our veggie car and tooting down the long road to Alberta. I can’t wait. For one week we can wave goodbye to responsibility; our lives will consist of camping, listening to stories on tape, and watching our gorgeous country zip by in colourful smudges of green, yellow and blue.

Isn’t that what summer’s about? Smokey fires, burnt sausages in a bun, and tenting under the stars? It’s these moments which revive our souls, nurture our minds, and remind us we’re not the centre of the universe. I cannot wait.

And yet, I need to. I need to slow down and let things take their course. Because all too soon these days of unending light will be replaced by fall-time flurry.

2 Comments

  1. July 17, 2008 at 2:29 am

    What is a “veggie car”?

    You make camping sound wonderful. My first and last time was when I was about 5 years old. My parents bought all the gear, including the Coleman stove, and we didn’t even last one night because I refused to use an outhouse! I guess I wasn’t fond of the bushes either. So we set up our tent every summer in our backyard in T.O. …close to the comforts of home. šŸ™‚

    Have a great trip, Emily!

  2. ammeepearl said,

    July 17, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    yay!!! I’m so glad you’re taking off on a holiday =)
    Enjoy every moment, every “smudge” along the winding roads and everyone who you will meet and see — and be Safe! Love you! a.


Leave a Reply

