no place like home

hints of autumn lace the cool morning air. i ride my bicycle, letting summer’s final kisses graze my cheeks. find serenity in the tall stately fields of corn, in the proud trees lining the road, in the horses flicking their tails from side to side. i’m home again. after a summer of traveling, i’m blissfully, wonderfully home.

afternoon consists of baking bread–pounding, kneading, rolling the dough into gentle submission then watching it rise into golden glory; i gather tomatoes from the vine in the garden, and chop them into soup which will grace our palettes at supper. bring in zucchini, shred it into thin green lines then mix it with peppers and vinegar to make salsa. hang countless coloured clothes upon the line and watch the moisture lift from tired material. fold them into crisp clean squares then slide them into drawers where they slumber till morn.

evening falls as the sounds of crickets arise and serenade the stillness. i sip tea with my husband who nurses a beer, and we watch as one by one the lights in people’s windows turn off, leaving only the television’s green glow dancing upon our neighbours’ walls.

autumn is indeed around the corner; the reddening leaves tell me so, but this too is fine. so long as i’m home.

3 Comments

  1. Amy Pearl said,

    September 1, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    wow em! this is a perfect picture of country-life to me (sigh) wish I was there =)

    love a.

  2. Teneale said,

    September 4, 2008 at 12:26 am

    I love fall. I really hoping to get a chance to go across the river this year and enjoy falls beauty. I know its fall becuase my parents are busy harvesting. I have to admit, I’m loving the cooler weather. hugs

  3. naomi said,

    September 4, 2008 at 8:29 am

    gorgeous Em. It sounds like you feel relaxed and sleepy after an active summer – whereas here at the other end of the globe I am so energised by spring that I feel like I am finally waking up.


Leave a Reply

