mum’s faith

i walk up the stairs, see Mum sitting by the large living room window overlooking autumn’s colours. her eyes are bright–almost too bright. her cheeks, flushed pink, like apple blossoms. her feet are up on the footstool. in her hands, a piece of paper, which she’s gripping so tightly her knuckles are turning white.

i breathe in deeply, willing away my sadness, and exhale out faith, asking God to help me cheer her up. she’s beaming up at me; i wrap my arms around her.

“so good to see you,” she says, bobbing her head a bit. then she stares into space.

i ask if i can see what she’s holding on to. she nods, but is unable to communicate that willingness to her hand so I gently pry her fingers apart and read what’s written on the paper.

Ephesians 3:20-21
“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.”

i swallow hard. who am i to think i can cheer Mum up? her joy is rooted in the giver of miracles. she believes beyond reason. she believes when everyone else’s faith is crashing down. she believes so hard her knuckles turn white.

turning to her i say, “God will heal you, Mum” speaking from my heart, not my mind. she nods, her eyes still bright.

“i know,” she says. and smiles.

2 Comments

  1. joannamallory said,

    September 15, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    Beautiful… what an example of faith.

  2. Teneale said,

    September 15, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    Hi Em, I wish I could say something profound, but find words lacking. I’m sorry you are going through such pain. I’m praying for you and your family. Hugs.


Leave a Reply

