suburban madness

blocks of granite stand in the way of my imagination

solid sordid stacks of solitude

supposed ‘homes’

surrounded by manicured lawns and plastic flowers

which have no smell

I’m suffocated by the narrow vision of the upper class

children’s toys litter the grass

placed strategically so they look ‘used’

while inside, little ones suckle on the boob tube

every house has a fire pit–wood piled high on either side

soaked through from seasons of rain and snow

the pit is as empty as their reason for making it

the Jones’ live on either side of one another

trading glances for greetings

price tags for true value

ever building upwards, never inwards

ever feeding jealousy, not hunger

I’m suffocated by the madness of suburbia

3 Comments

  1. Gaby said,

    September 25, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    So true, beautifully written em.

  2. Auntie D said,

    September 25, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    Wow! I love your gift of drawing us right into the ‘picture.’ I don’t imagine that I will ever look at the television in the same way again. Yup, getting a mental picture here in my mind. ;o)

  3. AmmeePearl said,

    September 26, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    Whoopeee!! I love this one =) You have SUCH a way with words (that’s why you’re the writer!)
    well spoken and conveyed my friend. love, a.


Leave a Reply

