genuinely distracted by the sunshine

it had been a long day. i felt fatigue’s fingers sketching circles around my eyes. poured myself a glass of water, then sat down beside my mum as she slowly finished her hamburger and fries.

she looked at me with concern etched in her forehead; laid a well-worn hand on my arm.

“i love you, emily,” she said, thoughtfully.

then she looked down at her plate. “i forgot to tell you about my day.”

mum proceeded to share with me her morning, how she’d read before breakfast, then sat and finished her pills at the table so she could have her 10:30 mug of mocha.

“how’d that work out for you?” i asked.

“not so well,” she said with a sigh. “i became genuinely distracted by the sunshine.”

then, all of a sudden, she became genuinely distracted by her hamburger, while i sat there smiling, loving her way of speaking.

i owe my passion for the english language to my mother, who taught me the value of a well-placed word.

thank you, mum.

(a picture of mum and dad, taken after supper tonight)

mum-and-dad

4 Comments

  1. allison said,

    November 7, 2008 at 1:31 am

    beautiful! I love you girls 🙂 she is a gem, and I don’t think we can quite figure out how much God teaches us through her life and her smile and her speech. thankfully.

  2. Naomi said,

    November 7, 2008 at 2:11 am

    lovely Em 🙂

  3. Amy Pearl said,

    November 7, 2008 at 4:15 am

    wow — I love it — how beautiful an observation … thanks for sharing it girl ~ are you still working on a book about your mom? if so, this DEF. needs to make the cut.
    love you!
    a.

  4. Teneale said,

    November 7, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    Your parents look great in this picture…too cute!


Leave a Reply

