mourning hours

I am learning what it means to be a woman,

To be a mother,

A womb-an

A token of fertility

A life-giving vessel

With this responsibility comes

Death and disease

Miscarriage and cancer

Darkness and despair

Tears which taper, then cease

With the morning, bearing

Glad tidings of great joy

A baby, born this day

A child, to carry on my

Name

I ache for such a day, yet

Will cherish

The blackening hours

Which make the colours of the dawn

So very beautiful

(written today, after finding out I have pre-cancerous cells on my cervix; exactly one month after miscarrying our first child)

a-mothers-offering

2 Comments

  1. barclee. said,

    November 11, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    i know this isn’t the type of thing to discuss over a “blog comment” but what happens for you now? Other than me starting to pray…

  2. joannamallory said,

    November 13, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    I’m praying too.


Leave a Reply

