loving her

part of me wants to smother her with kisses, tuck her under blankets, feed her chocolate all day long and make life a cozy pity party for the already-diseased.

yet is that true love?

another part of me wants to help her learn to cook, do laundry, clean and type emails again… for perhaps this is what she needs? the determination to remember everything she’s lost?

and then a small part of me wants to run far, far away so as not to get attached to this woman called my mother. a woman with brain cancer who will, one day, fly away on wings of gold. leaving me wishing i’d spent more time loving her.

mom-and-dad

2 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    November 26, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    Your parents look so cute in this picture. I imagine these different feelings are normal to struggle with…but that doesn’t make it any easier. We are praying for you and your family. Hugs.

    ps. Can’t wait to see you. Only a few weeks away!

  2. Meredith Dow said,

    December 4, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    Em, I know what you mean. I’ve been discovering that love is not always giving someone what they want, as harsh as it seems at times. So, love like this is not always received well, but I believe it’s more true.


Leave a Reply

