kissing chili

today i scooped some chili into her bowl. it was steaming hot. without thinking, i tucked my hair behind my ears and bent down to blow on it.

i stopped, suddenly feeling ashamed for blowing on my mother’s food as if she were a child. felt my ears burn. looked up at her flushed face, sheepishly.

“i’m sorry mum,” i said. “i’m only trying to make it cooler for you.”

she put a gentle hand on mine and said with a soft smile, “it’s okay. my chili is honoured to have you kiss it.”

2 Comments

  1. November 27, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    sweet! i wish people would kiss my chili. not like tim hortons employees though, like, people i know and love!

  2. Amy Pearl said,

    November 27, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    I would love you to kiss my chili too! Thanks for your comment on my blog too~I’m working away today (at home — yes, I am in my bathrobe! and it’s 10:30 a.m.) … kind of sad cause thanksgiving is SUCH a PRODUCTION down here, and there are soooo many things that are more important … and missing family … but wanted to say thanks to you for being such a friend! You are awesome! I love you!!! Keep writing and kissing your mom’s chili!! It’s ok I think =)
    love, a.


Leave a Reply

