my muse

leaves-small

while walking in white pillow snow, i realized…

without nature, i grow dull, listless.

sad.

exercising indoors, working all day within the confines of my purple office,

i dry out. become a cardboard copy of myself.

today i finally stepped outside. began to walk, began to open my heart up to the message of the woods.

branches reached out, black hands, embracing white cotton puff. autumn leaves lay sleeping, breathing colour into the washed-out underbelly of winter. tree limbs danced with each other, garbed in white linen ice, their reflection rippling across the shivering grey creek bed.

i breathed deep and long. felt the romance rising in my soul. felt creativity bleeding through my veins. rushed home to my purple office to write these feelings down…

thereby abandoning my muse, in my hurry.

water-small

4 Comments

  1. Meredith Dow said,

    December 4, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    I’m so glad your eyes were open to the inspiration of nature! Yesterday I had a similar experience. I was rushing around town, running errands when I was stopped in my tracks by the sight of a fox across the canal. As it sauntered around and stared me down it took my breath away. In that moment I realized how fickle we can be sometimes, and how insignificant our to-do lists in the face of the natural world.

  2. Teneale said,

    December 4, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    I too love the inspiration of nature. Although Edmonton is a beautiful city (especially around the area I live) I still look forward to leaving and heading into the country, with the long windy roads speeding down large empty spaces, interspersed with snow capped trees. We finally got a little bit of snow, just a dusting, really, but enough to make things look alive again! Hugs.

  3. joannamallory said,

    December 7, 2008 at 1:17 am

    Beautiful, Emily. I felt refreshed just reading and seeing the pictures.

    Thanks!

  4. scottbase said,

    December 8, 2008 at 10:10 am

    that’s great, and i love the re-design!


Leave a Reply

