magical mornings

morning has broken. it shatters with silent dignity. we sit, break bread together. i with my coffee, he with his milk. we read our bibles, pray. i in my housecoat, he in his suit. then we part. i hear the sound of the diesel cursing, groaning. our car is temperamental; it hates mornings. i like them, when the sun is awake. the sun is a wand, turning mornings into magic.

i pitter-patter in my slippers down the hall to my purple office. listen to my computer hum to life. sit in a puddle of sunshine. look outside, feel my breath catch. diamond necklaces are draped across trees and bushes. glistening. the ground is covered in plump piles of white and silver gems. i can’t stop staring. i want to run outside in my housecoat and feel beautiful.

the computer begs me to turn, to type in my password. i finally do. and when i look back, the sun has dipped behind a cotten fleece cloud, and the diamonds have turned to snow.

6 Comments

  1. February 5, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    gorgeous, Emily. you make me want to write songs …

  2. February 5, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    what a compliment. 🙂 thank you, colleen.

  3. February 5, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    Emily, what a beautiful tribute to a beautiful morning!

    The willow branches outside my window are ice-dipped but the sun stays hidden. I really appreciate you sharing your sunshine.

  4. February 7, 2009 at 4:12 am

    you writing makes me want to eat the outdoors.

  5. February 7, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    aw thanks tiff. eating diamonds might hurt tho. 🙂 xoxo

  6. Melanie said,

    February 7, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    this is so beautifully written Em, and it makes me want to play outside:)


Leave a Reply

