in spite of everything, i am blessed

someone once told me, my life makes her feel blessed.

it was hard to hear.

hard to feel pitied.

but then i thought, no. in spite of everything, i am very blessed.

my mum may have brain cancer, but she is my best friend. before, we could barely get along.

trent and i may find it hard to have children, but that allows us to travel and spend time with teenagers.

we may have nearly separated early on, due to my eating disorder, but now nothing can come between us–we are like newlyweds, even though we’ve been together 5 1/2 years.

trent’s father may be flat on his back with a slipped disc, but he still has his mind–and he is able to let trent and i know how much he loves us. how proud he is, of us. all the time.

i could go on, but i won’t. suffice it to say, rain is always accompanied by a rainbow.

i gave up complaining for lent–because complaining is a cop-out. an ingrained habit which lets us get away with a poor attitude.we have so much to be thankful for–the important thing is, not to compare.

as madeleine l’engle says “maybe you have to know darkness before you can appreciate the light.”

4 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    March 2, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    Count your blessings, name them one by one. Count your blessings, see what God has done.
    Sometimes I have to remind myself to count my blessings too, especially when it comes to thinking about Dad and Mom. It hurts to see that Dad can only hold Logan for a limited amount of time. For some reason I still hold in my head a vision of him doing all the things with Logan that he did with me. If I haven’t accepted it won’t be that way, has he? And sometimes I wonder how much longer we will even have a farm to go home to. But this weekend I went snowmobiling with Dad, we found an antler, I got to watch him be excited about his little “deer farm” and I got to watch him with Logan. Take it a day at a time and get as much out of each day as possible. Maybe that is the secret to life? I love you hon. You are always in my thoughts and prayers. Hugs.

  2. March 4, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    This:

    “Complaining is a cop-out. an ingrained habit which lets us get away with a poor attitude.we have so much to be thankful for–the important thing is, not to compare.”

    *Yes.*

    We’re on the same path for Lent.
    I deeply appreciate you… the truth you write.
    Thankful with you…

    Ann

  3. Melanie said,

    March 4, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    wow Em, thanks for writing this post. I often find myself comparing, and then I miss out on what God HAS blessed me with.

    I see God at work in your Em, and it encourages me so much.

    love,
    Mel

  4. Annie said,

    March 5, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    What a fantastic – and original – Lenten discipline! I wish I had thought of it too… wait, that sounds like both complaining AND comparing. (hee hee)

    They say it takes about 3-4 weeks to create a new habit – maybe there’s a reason why Lent is 40 days long! I will be joining you in this endeavor… Thanks for the reminder of this great truth about gratitude and perspective.

    Love, Annie


Leave a Reply

