photo albums

we sit. me in my grey sweats. her in her fuzzy greens.

glance through photo albums–days gone by in a smudge of colour. captured in brief by the camera lens.

snippets of a life so fast we sometimes have to stop and catch our breath.

instead, we pick up our tea cups and drink. take tiny bites of chocolate.

mum tells me about her morning: it took her an hour to get dressed “because of the buttons,” but she did it, all by herself. then, it had been mocha time–her favourite time. after that, her nap, “which was the perfect nap! i went to bed at 2, so i could be up at 4 for when you came over!”

i wish i hadn’t been late. she’s so happy her cheeks are like raspberries.

i write these things so i won’t forget. my words are like photographs. snapshots of days when mum feels good enough to dress herself. rare days, fleeting fast in a smudge of colour.

3 Comments

  1. Meghan said,

    March 6, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    I admire your dedication to your mom, Emily. There are days when I wonder if I would do the same for mine, as our relationship has never been very close. I’d like to think I would but I guess I won’t know until (if) that happens. Meantime, you are giving many people an opportunity to take a hard look at their own hearts and attitudes, a valuable exercise, possibly in preparation for the future.
    Thank you.

  2. Melanie said,

    March 9, 2009 at 2:13 am

    I pray for many more good days like this Em.

  3. Susan Faucher said,

    March 10, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    You write with so much love given to your mom.I also pray that she may experiance more good days.Days that may be spent with you and other members of your family.xo


Leave a Reply

