spring is here

3340089950_4d282c58ae

it’s been a long winter.

i stand by the window. see the grass, drenched and flat, beneath our wooden lawn chairs. see the way the trees are bursting into new skin. yellow crocus heads peek up shyly–i urge them onward. forward. “spring is here” i whisper. the sky laughs, spilling rain. the ground soaks it up like a sponge. i want to wring it out. plant flowers. make life a patch of colour. instead, i stand by the window and wait.

can you feel it? new things are growing. new life, happening.

i’m hoping. expectant.

4 Comments

  1. Meghan said,

    March 9, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    Um, you should read my post today – it’s the polar opposite of yours. We are expecting 5-10 cm of snow! harumph.

  2. Carolyn J said,

    March 10, 2009 at 5:22 am

    This warms my soul, even in minus 30.

  3. Teneale said,

    March 10, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    WHAT!? Spring? I’m so jealous! Its -30 here today! And all we’ve been getting the past two days is more snow! I don’t see spring, but I am sure aching for it. I’m looking forward to the day that I can take Logan out on a walk.

  4. Melanie said,

    March 19, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    Em,

    I am hoping and expectant for you as well. Winter will end, and new life will come again. I cling onto this hope for you!

    love you!
    Mel


Leave a Reply

