blue-cardigan Jesus

i hear her before i see her. humming to herself at the kitchen table.

“hello mum,” i call, shutting the door. the kitchen chair squeaks. the hums turn into determined grunts as she figures out how to stand up and come see me.

i walk up the stairs, and she’s standing there, beautiful blue eyes shining, pink-apple cheeks, her blue jean skirt tucked snug against her blue t-shirt. around her shoulders, a blue cardigan. she smells of baby powder and lavender lotion. mum always smells good.

“hello emily.” she enfolds me in her soft sweater.

“i love you,” she says quietly. then she begins to nod her head. continues nodding as i pull away. “yes,” she says seriously. “i definitely love you very much.”

sometimes i find it hard to take the Jesus from the Bible and put him into my very real, three-dimensional existence. when i pray, i try to picture him in my mind, so i know who i’m talking to. but, since coming home to care for mum, he’s become more real to me.more tangible.

because whenever i look at mum, i see him. i see his grace, and his joy. whenever i feel her hug, it’s him, enfolding me–accepting me. and her voice is his voice, telling me he loves me.

i think we all need someone who reminds us life is more than what we see. look hard enough, and you will find him. or her. someone who breathes life into faith.

Jesus, incarnate. Jesus, in the flesh. Jesus, in a blue cardigan.

2 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    March 25, 2009 at 3:22 am

    Since having Logan, I wonder what Jesus looked like as a baby. I can imagine Mary loving him with the same love that I feel. Its pretty amazing that something so small and dependent on his Mom could end up being the Savior of the world. (Jesus, not Logan of course.)

  2. March 25, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    Your eyes shine, seeing the world aright.
    Eyes like your mama’s.


Leave a Reply

