in daddy’s arms

dscn5960

his big cheeks are pink like balloons. his eyes scrunch into little lines. lips open and a rush of sadness pours out like water from a tap. an endless stream…

no amount of patting, reassuring or pacing can cure the sorrows of this two-month-old. i sit, watch my sister in law patiently hold, wait, for the tears to subside.

and when they do: “he does this every night,” they tell us. these new parents with the shiny eyes. “he spends all day absorbing sights and sounds, and by nighttime, he’s overstimulated. needs to release it all with a good cry. being a baby can be quite exhausting.”

being an adult can be, too.

how do we release? how do we free our minds, our souls–clear our palettes, so we can digest more the next day?

such is the haven in a long walk. sitting outside under night skies and letting the blackness ink down. watching the stars, dance. remembering the universe is bigger than us. remembering life isn’t just happening here, but everywhere. remembering He has a bigger plan–one too big to absorb in one day.

and then, letting go. letting Him, hold us. falling fast asleep in daddy’s arms.

emlogan

6 Comments

  1. April 6, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    Beautiful, Emily. Thanks for this reminder that we need to release. I’ve been working on this lately….

  2. AmmeePearl said,

    April 6, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    wow!! He’s soooo cubby!!! and personally, I don’t see anything wrong w/ crying my eyes out when I need release 😉 I do it more than I like to admit! love .a.

  3. April 7, 2009 at 5:16 am

    i sometimes just want to act like a big baby in the mall, to see the public reaction. she just puked on herself! now shes wailing senselessly! now more puking! its awesome.

  4. Melanie said,

    April 8, 2009 at 1:47 am

    This is a beautiful reminder Em. I love how simple (and dramatic) life is for babies:) I need to take more time to rest in my father’s arms, and yet that is sometimes the last thing that I will do. Keep finding rest in our daddy’s arms friend:)

    love,
    Mel

  5. Ann Voskamp said,

    April 9, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Yes. “So is being an adult.” Achingly so.

    Your smiling eyes, holding sweet baby….

    I smile and ache too….

    He cups you.

    *All* my love, Emily….

    All’s grace,
    Ann

  6. Teneale said,

    April 12, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    Beautiful comparision Aunty Em. And I must say, that is one cute baby….just saying…super cute. It was so good to see you and spend some time with you at your house. I think it was my favorite part of our trip, even though I got to see broadway…so that’s saying something. Love you.


Leave a Reply

