the art of silence

she teaches it to me, this art of not speaking. of simply being. she sits with me, and is still. silent. doesn’t need to talk. sometimes she hums, or pets the cat, or picks up a book to read. and sometimes we talk. but mostly we simply sit. together.

i find solace in the empty folds of time. in the comforting blanket of quiet. let it drape over me. it’s sweeter than music. purer than honey. within it, i find the power to create. the mysteries of my soul begin to unlatch, unfurl.

silence lets me tune in to the sounds that matter: the frogs croaking on the pond; the songbirds, calling to their mates; the rustle of new leaves; the groan of the earth awakening under spring’s gentle touch.

i crave it. this art. and so now, i let go of the need to speak… the temptation of words. and i rest, in silence.

4 Comments

  1. April 28, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    Inspiring….

  2. Ann Voskamp said,

    April 29, 2009 at 2:07 am

    You quiet me…
    “empty folds of time….” mmmm…. such words.

    Thank you for letting us sit with you….

  3. Melanie said,

    April 29, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    Lately, I have been craving silence. Thanks for putting this into words.

  4. Teneale said,

    April 29, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    I’m so bad at the silence thing. I don’t have time for silence. I have too much to do. Everytime i just try to sit I stress out about all the stuff I should be doing. It really is an art to be able to do that. Hugs.


Leave a Reply

