apple cinnamon pancakes

DSCN6051

what have i done to deserve you, oh gift of a man who makes me laugh till tears roll?

man who stands like little boy in knitted slippers and pyjama pants, game in hand, wanting me to play. to drop my work and spend time, being.

man who watches me try to do up my pants with new bulging-womb, and pulls me close, calling me sexy.

man who tip-toes, early morning mother’s day, making me apple cinnamon pancakes, bringing them to me in bed.

who holds my hair as i relieve supper after supper, my womb a throbbing sea of evening sickness.

man who hurts when i cry.

i fall to my knees, womb and forehead touching floor, and thank God for you, oh man of my life.

together, we’ll grow old in years, young in heart. my man and i.

6 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    May 11, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    Awwww…I’m so glad you and Trent have eachother…plus a new one on the way. I got pancakes for breakfast too, but Mom made them for me. Haha. Rob was going to, but he had to leave to go to Sylvia’s to help her move some of Merv’s stuff out of the house. I hope you had a great mothers day!
    ps. I remember what it was like to move to drawstring pants for a couple of months before pregnancy clothes! And then I remember moving on to Rob’s drawstring pants when my pregnancy clothes didn’t fit me anymore! I got so huge in the last month. haha. I hope you feel better soon. Hugs and love you all.

  2. Christina said,

    May 11, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS Em! I had no idea….

  3. May 11, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    beautiful…
    your love multiplied…

  4. May 11, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    Emily, you have an amazing gift with words.

    And I’m glad you had a happy Mother’s Day! May the evening sickness soon pass.

  5. May 12, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    Sigh

  6. Lydia said,

    May 13, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Your picture is a treasure–I’m sure you will be taking many more–we “documented” our last pregnancy well, having the thought that it would be our last–I’m so glad we did–good memories.

    Here’s to many more wonderful Mother’s Days!


Leave a Reply

