slumdog millionaire now homeless

The child star of Slumdog Millionaire never won a contest. He never won millions. He remains, to this day, in his Indian slum. Which was bulldozed this morning.

Who didn’t fall in love with the little boy that climbed through the bottom of an outhouse in order to beg for the autograph of his favourite actor? The boy who drew us into the slums of India, who pulled us forward into dirt and grime with shining eyes, as if he were above it all?

But he wasn’t. That was his home. Hollywood, or ‘Bollywood,’ used this little boy and his very real life, as Nike uses child labour, to pull at our heart-strings.

$326 million and eight Oscars later, the boy remains in his slum. Which makes no sense at all.

Oh—for a while he was showered with fame and gifts. But no one considered taking some of the movie’s profits and providing a better life for the now homeless star.

And to think, I fell for it. Along with the rest of America. I sat there eating popcorn letting the movie make me believe in ‘happily ever afters.’ Distracting me from the ever unjust system we live in.

I walked away from the movie feeling okay about my laptop and leather couch and lazy evening at home. After all, life was cozy. The little boy was safe now. No more slums.

I went to sleep that night believing a bold-faced lie. Woke up to the news that a bulldozer had knocked down the little boy’s home. With no one trying to stop it.

We were duped. And so was the child star of Slumdog Millionaire.

http://ctv.qwapi.com/site?t=qqGoJtacqA4Xw7lhvC-KTw&sid=ctv

6 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    May 14, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    How do you know this? I tried to go to the link, but it said the story doesn’t exist. That makes me so mad. That movie was so sad, and I can’t believe the actor, that even made it on Opra is now homeless. That makes me even more sad.

  2. AmmeePearl said,

    May 14, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Hey! I haven’t seen this movie yet, but do want too … I tried to go to the link and nothing as well, prob. the govt. trying to hide the truth !! (yes, I am becoming a bit of a conspiracy theorist) I wouldn’t put it past political agenda! It’s a dark world — but the good news is, we can make the light … one person/action at a time =)

  3. AmmeePearl said,

    May 14, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    http://www.mercurynews.com/newsspecialreports/ci_12367724

    I found on the web … so heartbreaking

  4. Susan Faucher said,

    May 14, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    Im feeling anger over the treatment this child and his family are having to go through.The people,such as the producer and director should step in now and help this family out.It is unthinkable,that with the millions the movie made some can’t be spend now.They should not have to wait until his 18th birthday.

  5. Melanie said,

    May 16, 2009 at 2:58 am

    wow Em,

    I didn’t realize that this happened, and it breaks my heart. Do you ever feel so overwhelmed with the brokenness in our world? We need God’s grace.

    Thanks for writing about this.

  6. Kathryn Price said,

    May 16, 2009 at 11:54 am

    How can we help him? Is there a legitimate fund or organization working on this? What is Danny Boyle doing? I saw all the stories on the 14th., and now it all seems to have dropped out of sight


Leave a Reply

