yellow balloons

today, a yellow balloon drifted across my yard.

sometimes i feel like that yellow balloon.

as a self-employed writer and artist, i don’t know what each day holds. i’m merely drifting along, propelled by the wind of the holy spirit, hoping to bump into something meaningful.

i ask God what my purpose is. he answers, “to know me.”

so somehow, as i’m drifting, i’m striving to find that secret place of knowing the sacred. perhaps it’s in the journey… in this very process of ‘not knowing’. after all, isn’t that faith? to know he who is, in spite of all that isn’t?

2 Comments

  1. Ann Voskamp said,

    May 23, 2009 at 2:31 am

    i. loved. this. post.

    again, (again! always, again!), He blew you into beautiful, meaningful words, miz e.

    you soar!

  2. Teneale said,

    May 23, 2009 at 2:36 am

    I love the way a balloon flies in the air. As a kid, there was a part of me that always wanted to let my balloons go to fly away to where they would never die. Its always sad to see a balloon wither away to nothing in a room. I sent a red balloon flying in the sky the other day and it was beautiful. I watched it until it disapeared. You are a beautiful yellow balloon. I’m so glad you aren’t withering away in a locked room somewhere. Thanks for sharing all your beauty with us.


Leave a Reply

