dandelion seeds

DSCN6311

she hands me a long, seedless dandelion. its petals are faded–missing, like teeth in an old man.

“um, thank you?” i say to my sister, who’s come over for evening tea.

she laughs. “he told me to give it to you. i prayed, asking what flower to bring you, and God told me to find the tallest dandelion–and so i did. then he said to tell you that just like this flower, whose seeds are on the wind, your book is out of your hands–its seeds are in God’s hands, to be planted and bear fruit, in good time.”

tears sprout. she’s talking about Mum’s Dance–the book i’ve written for mum. the one with my agent. lately, it would seem, there’s no hope. rejection after rejection. “strong story but not right for our list”… their words dangle, cold and meaningless. like the dandelion, my book appears dead. withered. i haven’t had the strength to pray to God about it lately; so discouraged. so instead, he spoke to my sister. and she carried his words, like seeds on the wind, to me.

they fall on the soil of my heart; take root. hope, on spindly stems, reaching up for the sun, daring to grow. daring to believe.

later that night i pick up my Bible to press the dandelion between its pages. it opens directly to psalm 20:4; “may he give you the desire of your heart, and make all your plans succeed.”

once again, i weep. for small miracles like dandelion seeds.

5 Comments

  1. Allie said,

    June 1, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    you are so full of hopes & dreams, ember.. so touched by god’s hand of grace – even your bread is baked with love & diligence, with so much heart behind it. thanks!
    i love you so much & am so, so proud of you!
    please keep dreaming 🙂 he plants big dreams in big hearts! alia xox

  2. Teneale said,

    June 1, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    I really beleive your book will get published. I don’t know when, but I beleive it will. You are too talented to go undiscovered. I love you hon. And now I must go and comfort my crying baby.

  3. June 1, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    “Strong book” indeed, if the samples I’ve read of your writing are any indication….

    Emily, thanks for sharing this. It’s beautiful, it’s a special message from God to you, but it’s also a lovely encouragement to all of us other writers waiting for books that seem like dead dandelions.

    Only God would send a message this way. Isn’t He great?

  4. Ann said,

    June 2, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    You wrote the love story!
    And this too… a strong story… it too, seeds on the wind.

    I marvel with you, Emily, Him so close, leading…

    All, all my love,
    Ann

  5. June 3, 2009 at 3:28 am

    encouraging for all of us, Emily. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

