small rubber boots

huge.95.477664

raindrops kiss the ground. form puddles. i look down, see my face reflected in pools of sky tears.

breathe deep the air fresh with watery growth.

dream of you in small rubber boots splashing around clapping your hands, dimpled skin in yellow rain jacket.

laughing.

i wonder what you’ll be like… an artist like your mom, or a jock like your dad? will you cry when a bird hits its head on the window? will you think in poetry, or in mathematical equations? will you savour a walk, or prefer to ride your bike? and will you know God so deeply you hear his thoughts?

baby, precious extension of my soul, i wait. bated breath. to meet you.

(*photo from Design Pics)

2 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    June 8, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    I know that feeling! I could hardly wait to meet Logan. And I’m still wondering what he will be like. I do a streak of stubborness there that I blame on Rob. haha. I think he will be artistic. He is so observant of everything around him. And athletic. He loves his jolly jumper! haha. Now I sound like the typical parent who beleives their kid can do no wrong. Hope you are feeling good. Hugs.

  2. June 9, 2009 at 11:07 am

    Emily, I pray that as your baby grows to a child, teen and adult s/he will always know how much s/he’s loved… by you and Trent, and by God.


Leave a Reply

