heaven’s babies

she sat on the floor in white cushion-diaper, baby legs sprawled. playing. her hair, blond curls. her eyes, trenton’s brown. they looked at me, laughed in toddler mischief. i wanted to reach out and touch her skin; her little fat folds. but i couldn’t, for in my arms, a baby boy. faceless. small and wrapped in cloth. i glanced again at the toddler girl building Duplos; then down at the faceless boy, and i awoke. motherless.

i had miscarried the day before the dream. for months, i assumed i’d lost the faceless boy. then, we conceived a baby boy and i wondered–had the vision meant anything? it wasn’t until begging God to show me that i knew: she had been the one i’d lost. she had been our papoose. our beautiful blond-haired little girl. for she was older than her brother. God had shown me a picture of her in heaven.

the boy had been faceless because he was, at that point, unborn. a promise of good things to come.

how many children await in heaven to meet their parents for the very first time?

“for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these…”

3 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    July 27, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    ok, that brought tears to my eyes. Do you know that is how I interpreted it when you told me your dream for the first time? I wish I would have told you that now. It made more sense to me since the little girl was older. i can’t wait to meet little papoose to.

  2. Melanie said,

    July 28, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Oh Em…goosebumps. There are so many little ones there with our great Heavenly Father. I am so thankful that he gave you a glimpse of her, and that he has shown you what your dream meant.

  3. July 31, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    and in heavenly sunsets perhaps your papoose plays with my five little ones. Not the five that I hold here, the ones that He has received there.


Leave a Reply

