tall grace

the trees reach, endless sinews of bark and lumber, tumbling upwards into the light. he tells me to notice the tall one. the one heads above the others. i do. am reminded of my sister bringing me the tallest dandelion she could find because “God told me to.” am beginning to notice a pattern. a pattern of height.

“i want you to stretch like this tree,” he says in his gold-thread whisper. “heads above the others. so tall you can almost taste heaven. i want you to search for me more than anything. and in the meantime, i will provide for all your dreams and hopes. but ironically, they won’t matter anymore, because all you’ll want is me.”

the kingdom of heaven is like this: a pearl hidden in a field… a missed coin… a lost sheep… God wants us to seek with hands and feet until we uncover this secret. this art of contentment.

and so, i stretch… begging grace to meet me where i’m at, and help me grow… that my head might scrape the heavens.

5 Comments

  1. August 14, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    Listen to Him, stretch toward Him… and keep sharing with us.

    God is blessing you, Emily, and He blesses me through your posts.

  2. Christina said,

    August 14, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    This is beautiful, Em.

  3. August 18, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    “begging grace to meet me…”

    yes… yes… yes…

    today to grow taller, by going lower…

    i send much love, emily…

    a

  4. Teren said,

    August 24, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    “…ironically, they won’t matter anymore, because all you’ll want is me….the art of contentment”

    Yes! Yes! Yes! Because idols always disappoint.

    Thank you for these beautiful words.

    Teren

  5. August 25, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    art of contentment… yes… it’s a spiritual act of worship. and grace meeting us where we are is His way of fulfilling every promise.


Leave a Reply

