hands-free

he raises his arms high above his head, v-shaped… soars down the hill on his bike… like a bird, wings outstretched. i watch him turn the corner, hands-free.

behind him i’m braking the whole way… afraid of falling.

i arrive anxious where he sits elated. “did you see me?” he asks, a little boy’s smile on his face. “no hands.”

“i braked the whole time,” i reply.

“you wasted lots of free gas,” he says.

we pedal home, quiet riders of the night, and i realize why i so often feel tired. stressed. i’m gripping life’s handle-bars too tightly… God wants me to let go. to raise my hands high, and rely on free gas. trusting him to keep me safe.

3 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    August 18, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    I think you were smart in this case, to brake all the way down the hill. Trent is just a crazy! But I get what you are saying with this. Its hard to let go of the handlebars of life and let the air run freely through our fingers. But life is definetly a lot more exciting and fun if we do. Stress is so overrated! Hugs.

  2. Pairie Chick said,

    August 25, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    I had this EXACT same revelation one time!!! Your words just take up shop in my heart and make me feel all warm and fuzzy =)

  3. Denise said,

    September 5, 2009 at 4:40 am

    Oh I know what you mean! And, Emily, there is nothing like having a child to bring this point home. I think you’ll enjoy the ride though 🙂


Leave a Reply

