bike ride

bike painting

the sloped road reminds me of my eight-month pregnant body… curved hills, riding the distance. each day i bike, pedals chasing pavement. the asphalt is a black thread tying together quilt-patches of colour: corn, barley, wheat and beans. above, sky as blue as the sea. trees fringe the fields, green tassels.

everywhere i look: colour. bright, effervescent hues of harvest. soon, fall-time will burst into flames of orange and red leaves… then, winter, with dizzying white. and finally, spring–its face like a newborn’s. colours young and fresh.

why did God make such a beautiful world? why not just shades of brown and grey? everywhere i look, my eyes dance across his holy palette. i imagine his smock–streaked with every colour imaginable. his fingers, permanently covered in paint–like mine.

and then i realize: he delights in giving us pleasure. he made the world lovely just to make us smile. as i bike, i cannot help but breathe in the beauty, leaving behind the ugliness of adult worries. God wants to give us good things. this lends me hope. and for a moment, it’s just me and the black-threaded road–trespassing on his masterful artwork.

(painting by me–www.canvaschild.com)

4 Comments

  1. September 8, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Isn’t God good!

    Thanks for reminding me to look around at the beauty and colours. (It’s a bit sad to need reminding!)

    Thanks for sharing your painting too: beautiful and vibrant. I imagine God is smiling as He looks over your shoulder at it.

  2. Teneale said,

    September 8, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    Something about biking always makes me feel like a child too. maybe its because I did so much biking when I was kid, pretending to be one a motorbike or a horse, escaping from pretend dangers!
    I love fall. I can’t wait till the leave start changing. I’m so happy to have cooler temperatures! Its almost SCARF time, my favorite season!

  3. A. said,

    September 8, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    hey em =)
    Have you heard of a book called “One Thing” by Sam Storms … it’s all about discovering the beauty of God through creation, and well, pretty much everything … totally in the vein that your blog is in =) and also, an interesting thing to ponder … from a color theory point of view, everything that has color, has it because it’s what’s reflected after LIGHT hits it … so, no LIGHT no color, and thinking of God as the LIGHT of the world, and the fact that He created LIGHT first … totally puts a cool spin on the story … kind of deep … … anyways … miss you lots, and I’m sure your 8 month preggy body is beautiful!
    love you! a.

  4. marge said,

    September 11, 2009 at 4:31 am

    hi it is true about the colors already, Aunty Karen and I went for a bike ride across the river and things are changing had a good ride I love you Emily wish i could go biking with you mom


Leave a Reply

