my un-birthed baby

DSCN7188

i lie there in the dark, lime green moonlight peeling through window blinds, trent’s easy breathing on the pillow next to mine. put my hand against my 32-week womb, heavy with un-birthed baby. he’s dancing in there, my little jumble of elbows and knees. the books say he’s able to think now–i wonder, what about? and what are thoughts without words?

i feel his shoulder slide up against my warm palm. ache to scoop him out, to hold him. “only a little while longer, tiny one,” i whisper while the father of my child shudders in his sleep-cocoon.

here i am, mother of soon-to-be Aiden, wife to sweet Trenton. in the stillness of night, beneath the shadows of a new day, i weep for the wonder of it all: life’s brevity and breadth, babies and kisses, and men who keep their word.

and within me, my womb pulsates.

4 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    September 11, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    It won’t be long now. You’ll get to hold Aiden soon. And what a sweet little family you will become! I wish I could meet him right away. You’ll have to give him extra cuddles and kisses for me!

    Love Aunty Teneale or (Aunty Neal, which I think is pretty cute)

  2. September 11, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    Wow.

  3. Allie said,

    September 11, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    this is really beautiful, em.

  4. September 12, 2009 at 3:27 am

    Exquisite writing from a heart after the Master.
    MY.

    I send so much love, Emily of New Moon…
    soon… soon


Leave a Reply

