even in his sleep…

my body is all bumps and i lie lumpy in bed, feeling my baby kick and squirm within. it’s 3 a.m. and sleep evades. i feel quietly sorry for myself. beside me, my husband is shrouded in sleep. i long to be in that place with him. watch the way moonlight traces his jaw and wonder, will our son look like him? suddenly, a kick so sharp i softly moan and out of the shroud my husband’s hand reaches, rests gently on my head, and i breathe deep. sleep soon cascades, pulls down eyelids and i join my husband in the Land of Nod.

in the morning he tells me, “i remember putting my hand on your head. i was praying for you.”

how fortunate am i, that even in his sleep, my husband loves me.

4 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    September 29, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Very sweet post Em. And a word of encouragement, soon that baby will be out and keeping you awake with crying…oh wait…encouragement…soon you will meet your gorgeous little guy and all that pain and lack of sleep will be totally 100 percent worth it! Logan had me awake at 3 last night too. He is sick and had a fever and it broke at about 1 and he decided to play and talk in his crib for 3 hours! I’m feeling sleep deprived too! He is feeling much better today though, so I’m sure we will get a good nap in some time! Hugs. Praying for you through the rest of your pregnancy!

  2. Denise said,

    October 1, 2009 at 3:09 am

    awww…that is too sweet. It is a tough time in the pregnancy – they always seem to want to do gymnastics when you need to sleep. What a blessing to have a husband who prayes for you in his sleep though.

  3. October 3, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    precious. fortunate, yes. blessed and graced. Blessings upon your new arrival.

  4. October 6, 2009 at 5:25 am

    Sigh. So sweet.


Leave a Reply

