penitence

I find I need you in the quiet hour of soul-upset. But my knees refuse to bend and so I stand upright in the face of all that matters, and pout, bottom lip quivering. Why can’t I bow? What prevents me from kneeling, noon and night? What does it mean to pray without ceasing, and how might I train my tongue to whisper only holy words, ones you hear, ones which change the world?

Keep me from wasting away on the weariness of yesterday…

Let me love you with my life. Let my feet find the path you tread in early morning light… let me cling to your robe, sit at your side and feel the world’s empty cries. Break me like bread that my life might be consumed by you.

1 Comment

  1. Linda said,

    October 14, 2009 at 1:20 am

    I am here visiting from Ann’s blog. What beautiful writing!
    This post speaks to my heart – giving words to things I’ve struggled with in recent days.
    Thank you.


Leave a Reply

