prodigal woman

there was nothing poetic about it.

it was a truly, unadulterated, bad day.

the kind of day that makes you want to curl up under a linus-blanket, fleece next to cheek, and await the storm to pass.

but instead i stood there, amidst the storm, and felt its green tendrils wrap tight: angry men and women scowling, refusing this pregnant woman mercy; then, the doctor telling me my baby’s breech… and finally, realizing i’d forgotten the painting i was meant to drop off.

i’d had it all planned: baby appointment, then slip over to my client’s house, only a half-hour drive from there, to hand over the painting. only i’d forgotten to bring it. and so, i was forced to return, the hour-long drive home, to pick up the painting and then drive again, an hour and a half, to the customer’s house. my sciatic nerve flaring and my anger, blaring with music loud.

unassuming, my sick husband sat at home, trying to heal… i barged in, flung my rage upon him like a discarded towel, and he simply stared at this woman he couldn’t recognize. i was upset at the messy house, the sick husband, the bad day… then out again i barreled into the car, with the painting, leaving behind a man who’d suffered more than his share due.

three hours later, i straggled home… a weary 9-month burgeoning lady, prepared to beg for forgiveness. my duties done, i anticipated falling into bed alone. and yet, there he stood, in a freshly scrubbed house, supper ready on the table. his arms opened and i fell into them and he whispered, i was so worried… i called everywhere, thinking you should have been home by now…

i wept, for the wonder of grace in a world of mistakes.

7 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    October 14, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    This made me cry for both of you. Thanks again for your honesty and know that I have made the same mistakes. I’m sorry you had such a bad day, but so happy that you have such a great husband. And I will be praying that Aiden will turn, I’m sure that is quite stressful. Was Trent struggling with a migraine? I hope you have a terrific day today, full of good news and happiness. When do you go to the doctor again? Love you.

  2. Linda said,

    October 14, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    I have tears in my eyes too sweet girl. How precious when the one we love becomes the arms and heart of the One who loves us more than we can fathom.

  3. amy h. said,

    October 15, 2009 at 4:16 am

    I understand what you’re going through … in different ways, if that’s possible =) (since my experiences are different than yours) I had a rough weekend too … it’s humbling when you stop to think about how fast we can fly from our feelings … I keep praying for you guys — the days are getting close to when you’ll meet little “A” face to face!!

    xoxo!!

  4. Denise said,

    October 15, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    It’s so humbling to recieve mercy when we deserve so much less. I know. My husband does this to me more often than I ever deserve – and makes me realize the mercy of God in such a tangible way. Blessings on your last leg of this pregnancy journey, em.

  5. October 16, 2009 at 1:06 am

    Tears.
    Tears.
    Tears.

    I love you, Full Moon Emily….
    Your words wash us again in His fresh grace.

    All, all my love,
    Ann

  6. karen cadle said,

    October 16, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    Now that is a farmer who knows his wife and responds with such grace and goodness…made me cry.

  7. October 18, 2009 at 3:10 am

    from one prodigal girl to another,
    thank you so much for your transparency – so encouraging to know I don’t struggle alone. Grace, Grace, Sweet Grace.

    many blessings,
    aimee


Leave a Reply

