our baby’s arrival

last night we felt our little one’s toes poking through the skin of my womb.

he’s trying to escape.

trent tells me all women feel this way

as i sit in front of the green moonlit window watching my belly grow…

shaken with fear that i might never actually give birth…

that i might live, forever, with a child inside of me.

“we’ll join the circus if that happens,” he promises me. i try to laugh.

every morning, he takes his cell phone…

i sit at home, writing articles, and wait for the baby’s knock: the insistent “let me out of here” whoosh of water, followed by the frantic call …

for  months, i wondered, can i do it? can i be a mother?

now, at 37 weeks, i know i can. and i want to do it soon.

“patience,” someone breathes to me… i swallow back the heartburn and try to enjoy these last few weeks–

or hours, or moments–

before my womb opens like an envelope and a baby emerges,

slippery letter of love…

changing our lives forever.

3 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    October 20, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    Yup…I remember the feeling. And then I hit my due date and was overdue by 8 LOOOONNNNNGGGGGGEEEEESSSSSSTTTTT days of my life! I sure hope that doesn’t happen to you! This was beautifully written! My hugs to you in these last days.

  2. Linda said,

    October 21, 2009 at 1:00 am

    I’m a grandmother now, but I do remember feeling just as you do now. Enjoy these restful days. The Father has already written the story of your precious little one’s life, and He know the very moment he/she ? will make an appearance.
    I love your husband’s idea 🙂

  3. naomi said,

    October 21, 2009 at 4:44 am

    Wow exciting!!!!


Leave a Reply

