second birth

“can i hold the baby?” trenton asks.

i smile. wishing he could.

yet somehow, wanting to cling to my tiny companion who swims and sings within me…

whose foot i feel pressed against my side long after the world has fallen asleep…

and part of me cries at the thought of labour, the thought of losing

my speechless connection with this life within.

i rest, hand on abdomen… feel him kiss my palm … i poke him, when he’s too quiet, and he reassures me with a gentle kick… and as water drips from shower-head onto belly i watch my skin ripple with infant motion…

i am starting to understand the concept of second birth

the one God desires of us.

to be born again… to become like infants in God’s womb… entirely dependent, utterly quiet, never alone…

wordless communication, unspeakable love

cushioned against the world’s blows

grace within the belly of our maker.

7 Comments

  1. sarah said,

    October 26, 2009 at 1:23 am

    beautiful, em. birthing does have a way of turning our theology inside out. blessings to all 3 of you.

  2. meghan said,

    October 26, 2009 at 1:50 am

    so true. so beautiful.

  3. Linda said,

    October 26, 2009 at 3:05 am

    Such beautiful thoughts Emily. Yes, I want to be just like that. When life presses in and I feel so weary with it all – just to rest in Him.
    Praying for a safe and joyous delivery for you.

  4. Denise said,

    October 26, 2009 at 3:10 am

    Love this post. Esp “entirely dependent, utterly quiet, never alone…” Good words to ponder.

  5. October 27, 2009 at 1:32 am

    Wow.

    Hushed beauty now in my spirit. Thank you for sharing.

    Will link at Eucharisteo Journey…

  6. October 27, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    never having grown my children within my womb, only within my heart – thank you for sharing your experience in such a way I have a better understanding of my Father’s love for me. Truly a blessing.

    peace to you.

  7. Emily said,

    October 28, 2009 at 3:02 am

    There is such great learning offered to mothers whose wombs are full.


Leave a Reply

